Wk8 – Art Activity – LA Flag

capture2capture1

In designing my interpretation of the LA Flag, I focused primarily on the landscapes. Bordering South and West LA is the Pacific Ocean, while mountains and valleys bordered East and North LA. Thus resulting in my decision to create a flag with a blue left/bottom, and yellow top/right. Meanwhile the red in the center represented what immediately comes to my mind when I think of LA: the Red Carpet.

On the right side, is my thought process in creating the rest of the flag: LA’s iconic Skyline. I also took inspiration from Chicago’s flag, which used stars to represent significant events in its history. The result: stars which outline the LA Skyline.untitled (1)

While the current Los Angeles flag is seen as a mess of a clutter, it does still hold meaning. Each color, and the center crest holds meaning significant to Los Angeles history. My design instead focuses on the landscapes of Los Angeles, and emphasizes on what Los Angeles is known for in the present.

Leave a comment